newsdog Facebook

692 file nomination papers on last day

The Tribune 2017-12-07 02:08:00
JALANDHAR VOTES 2017Candidates and their supporters throng District Administrative Complex in large numbers
A BJP candidate, along with former MLA Sarbjit Singh Makkar and others, outside the DC office in Jalandhar on Wednesday.

The nomination process for the elections to the Municipal Corporation, Municipal Committees of Bhogpur and Goraya and Nagar Panchayats of Nurmahal and Shahkot ended today. As many as 692 candidates are in the fray. While 437 candidates filed their papers for the corporation polls, 68 did so for the Bhogpur Municipal Committee, 58 candidates for Goraya and 64 for the Nagar Panchayat poll in Bilga. As many as 65 candidates filed their papers for the election to the Nagar Panchayat, Shahkot. The candidates along with their supporters starting reaching the District Administrative Complex since morning. Traffic snarls were witnessed as they marched towards the nomination centre, flashing their party flags and making victory signs. Those who did not get a chance this time were also seen supporting their party candidates with a hope to be lucky next time.
As many as 98 aspirants filed their nomination papers as Independent candidates. The Congress candidates are 121 in number while the BJP has fielded 70 and SAD 55 candidates. However, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) could find only 51 candidates to contest the polls.
The last-minute ticket cancellation of some candidates kept the pot boiling on the last day of filing nominations. As the Congress had released its list of candidates a few hours before the closing of the nomination process, many could not file as Independent candidates. However, playing a stroke at the last minute, the Congress and the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) cancelled two tickets just a few minutes before the end of the nomination process, leaving the candidates in the lurch. The SAD also cancelled the ticket of Jyotika Talwar from Ward No. 27 and fielded Harjit Kaur Sohal, a principal and wife of SAD leader Bir Bikram Singh. She will now face Congress' Aruna Arora.
Finally, the Oberoi couple, too, filed nomination papers as Independent candidates from Ward No. 54 and 55.

These young women join battle for ballot