newsdog Facebook

RJD authorises Lalu to select candidates for by election to one LS and two assembly seats

webindia123 2018-02-13 00:00:00
RJD today authorised party chief Lalu Prasad to select candidates for by election to Araria Lok Sabha seat and Bhabhua and Jehanbad assembly seats, scheduled on March 11.

RJD`s central parliamentary board and state parliamentary board held separate meetings at the official residence of former chief minister Rabri Devi at 10, Circular Road.

The party`s central parliamentary board meeting was held under the leadership of Rabri Devi and state parliamentary board meeting under the chairmanship of former minister Awadh Bihari Choudhary. Both meetings lasted for nearly four hours.

Party`s state parliamentary board first authorised its central body on selection of candidates for by election to Araria Lok Sabha seat and Jehanabad and Bhabhua assembly seats.

Later, party`s central parliamentary board held elaborate discussions on the selection of party candidates for the by election. Before the meeting, Rabri Devi told mediapersons that RJD would contest by election with full preparation and claimed that the party would win on all three seats as people of the state stood firmly behind the party. She said people were watching how BJP and its ally JD (U) were behaving.

To a query on the possibility of seat adjustment with Congress, Rabri Devi, also party vice president said Congress had not held any discussion with RJD leaders so far staking claim to any seat. She said if Congress staked claimed to any seat, discussions would be held on it. She said, nervousness was clearly visible in ruling parties (JD-U and BJP) due to Leader of Opposition in Bihar Assembly Tejaswi Yadav`s ongoing 'Sambidhan Bachao, Nyay Yatra'. State RJD president Ramchandra Purbe, former minister Abdul Bari Sidiqqui, MLA Bhola Yadav, party vice president Shivanand Tiwari, senior party leaders Mohammed Iliyas Hussain and Jadgadand Singh and other members of the parliamentary board attended the meeting.


-- (UNI) -- C-1-1-DL0213-1248664.Xml