newsdog Facebook

MS Dhoni Breaks Silence On Retirement, Reveals Why He Took The Ball From The Umpires

crictoday 2018-08-08 19:53:01


MS Dhoni, former Indian captain, has finally spoken about his retirement plans from international cricket. It was speculated that he was on the verge of calling it a day after he took the ball from the umpires. When England defeated India in the final ODI of the series, Dhoni went up to umpires, requesting them to hand over the ball to him.

Many theories suggested that it could be last time Dhoni donned the blue jersey, as it was during the third Test between Australia and India, he collected a wicket and announced his retirement from Test cricket.

On being asked why did he take the match ball from the umpires, Dhoni said, “(I took the ball) to see why we are not able to get enough reverse swing. Because we will be playing the World Cup in England, we have to (ensure) that we get reverse swing going. Because it is something that is very important. If the opposition is getting it, we should also get it, at some point or the other.”

"After 50 overs, the ball is useless to the ICC (International Cricket Council), so I requested the umpire 'Can I get the ball and gave it to the bowling coach?

"We need to work on it as to how we can get it more scuffed up so that we can get a bit of reverse swing going, that will in-turn help the fast bowlers get those Yorkers or wickets in and around the 40th over mark. That would really help us restrict the opposition by not getting too many runs in the last 10 overs," he added.