newsdog Facebook

Election Commission Cuts Short Campaigning For Nine Constituencies in West Bengal After Violence During Amit Shah's Rally in Kolkata

Latestly 2019-05-15 08:12:00

Kolkata, May 15: Taking note of the violence during Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah’s roadshow in Kolkata, the Election Commission on Wednesday cut short poll campaign in West Bengal. The campaigning on the remaining nine constituencies will end after 10 pm tomorrow. The poll panel also invoked Article 324 for the first time. Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha Constituency in West Bengal: Candidates, Current MP, Polling Date And Election Results 2019.

The EC said, “This is probably the first time that ECI has invoked Article 324 in this manner but it may not be last in cases of repetition of lawlessness and violence which vitiate the conduct of polls in a peaceful manner.” The panel added that it was deeply anguished at the vandalism done to the statue of Vidyasagar and hoped that the vandals should be traced by the state administration.

Meanwhile, Additional Director General (ADG) CID was relieved from his duties and attached to the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA). He will report to the MHA by 10 am tomorrow. The EC also relieved Principal Secretary Home for having interfered in process of conducting polls by directing WB Chief Election Officer. Now, Chief Secretary will look after the Home Department.

On May 14, violence broke out during Shah’s roadshow in Kolkata. According to reports, Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) members hurled bricks at Vidyasagar College at Shankar Ghose Lane in Kolkata. Stones were also pelted at Shah's convoy from a college hostel on Bidhan Sarani.

The nine constituencies which are going for polls in the seventh phase of the general elections are - Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Jadavpur, Diamond Harbour, South and North Kolkata. The counting of votes will take place on May 23.