newsdog Facebook

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ravichandran Ashwin, Vijay Shankar and Dinesh Karthik Included in Tamil Nadu’s Probable Squad

sportzwiki 2019-09-09 17:25:56

Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) have announced the probable player’s list for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20 on Sunday (September 8). Spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, all-rounder Vijay Shankar and Washington Sundar all have made it to the initial squad.

The 19-year-old Tamil Nadu lad, Washington Sundar, has already made his debut for Indian Cricket team. He has played 10 T20I and 1 ODI for his country and has been economical. The off-spinner last appeared in India vs West Indies Tour for T20I.

All-rounder Vijay Shankar, who made it to the World Cup 2019 squad but due to injury, he was ruled out from the tournament. Talking about Ashwin, he has returned from the West Indies tour a few days ago.

Tamil Nadu-born Ashwin has last played for India in Test Match against Australia in 2018. He was in the squad against West Indies for two-match series but didn’t get any game time. In both the encounters, Jadeja was given the chance ahead of the off-spinner. Ashwin will look to use this opportunity ahead of the Test series against South Africa.

Tamil Nadu is the maximum- time winner

Dinesh Karthik will be the captain of the team while former Tamil Naidu allrounder D Vasu is the coach. Karthik has led the Kolkata Knight Riders team in IPL after Gautam Gambhir stepped down and has been successful with a young side.

Tamil Nadu is the most successful team in the Vijay Hazare Trophy with five titles. The state was last time winner in the 2016-17 season with the batting efforts of Karthik. Tamil Nadu is in Group C with nine more states.

K Dinesh Karthik,Vijay Shankar,Abhinav Mukund, NJagadeesan, B Aparajith,R Ashwin,MS Washington Sundar,V Ganga Sridhar Raju, C Hari Nishaanth,Pradosh Ranjan Paul, SLokeshwar, KMukunth,M Vijay,T Natarajan,K Vignesh,M Mohammed,Abhishek Tanwar, JKousik, R Sai Kishore, M Siddharth and M Ashwin.